Where We Work


When the MDG-F was established in December 2006, 59 countries from Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean, the Arab States and Eastern Europe were considered eligible to participate in the eight rounds of calls for proposals.   These 59 countries were determined by the Spanish Master Plan for International Cooperation 2005-2008. Forty-nine countries submitted successful proposals and received financing.

The Spanish Master Plan 2005-2008 has traditionally put heavy emphasis on Latin America and the Caribbean, and this was reflected in the number of countries from this region that were eligible for the call for proposals. The MDG-F had programmes in 18 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, followed by 11 in Africa (South Sudan was added in 2011), 8 in the Arab States, 7 in Asia and 6 in Eastern Europe.